Book Review: Merry Arlan: Breaking The Curse by Will Soulsby-McCreath

Title: Merry Arlan: Breaking The Curse (Guardian Cadet #1) Author: Will Soulsby-McCreath Publisher: Nopoodles Everything Books Publication date: October 26, 2021 Genre: Fantasy One Sentence Summary: Merry wants more than anything to become part of the Brotherhood of Guardians, and helping an Elf and a Guardian Colonel might just help her get there. Overall Merry Arlan: … Continue reading Book Review: Merry Arlan: Breaking The Curse by Will Soulsby-McCreath

Sisters of String and Glass, Part —

This is something of a lie. There is no next part of this story this week. In theory, I have time to get the next chapter lightly edited and scheduled, but, in actuality, I'm putting myself into pretzels over Tuesday's review, so I'm choosing to forego posting Sisters this week so I can write that … Continue reading Sisters of String and Glass, Part —

Author Interview: Will Soulsby-McCreath, author of Merry Arlan: Breaking The Curse

The Lily Cafe is thrilled to welcome author Will Soulsby-McCreath! Their adult fantasy novel Merry Arlan: Breaking The Curse is set to be released tomorrow, October 26, 2021 (check out the purchase link at the end of this post), but you can enjoy their flash fiction and short stories on their blog Nopoodles while you wait. Title: … Continue reading Author Interview: Will Soulsby-McCreath, author of Merry Arlan: Breaking The Curse

Top 5 Saturday: Blood on the Cover

Top 5 Saturday is run by Amanda @ Devouring Books. Every week showcases 5 books that share a common theme. This week's theme is Blood on the Cover. So...I don't like blood. I have a fear of hypodermic needles and getting blood drawn makes me nauseous and lightheaded, so now the sight of blood makes … Continue reading Top 5 Saturday: Blood on the Cover

The Ancient History Book Tag

A huge thank you Aaliya@Aaliya's Nook for tagging me for this! While she's, understandably, very busy at this time of the year, I do love her posts and her enthusiasm for life and books is so much fun. This tag was created by Books Michelle over on Booktube. The Stone Age: One of the first … Continue reading The Ancient History Book Tag

Bookish Confessions: Things On Book Covers I’m Sick Of (and some things I really love)

The cover is, of course, the first thing most people notice. A bad cover will make a reader pass it over. A good cover will reel them in. But, in my case, a repetitive cover, no matter how pretty, will usually make me pass. Unless I like the author or it's part of a series … Continue reading Bookish Confessions: Things On Book Covers I’m Sick Of (and some things I really love)

Book Review: Sophie Valroux’s Paris Stars by Samantha Verant

Title: Sophie Valroux's Paris Stars (Sophie Valroux #2) Author: Samantha Verant Publisher: Berkley Publication date: October 19, 2021 Genre: Women's Fiction One Sentence Summary: After taking over her family's chateau and business after her grandmother's passing, Sophie works hard to settle in, but still dreams of receiving Michelin stars even though it starts to interfere with … Continue reading Book Review: Sophie Valroux’s Paris Stars by Samantha Verant

Top 5 Saturday: Books Set in the Forest

Top 5 Saturday is run by Amanda @ Devouring Books. Every week showcases 5 books that share a common theme. This week's theme is Books Set in the Forest. Whenever I think of a forest setting, I always think fantasy. Maybe I've read too many fantasies. Maybe I like forests too much? Either way I … Continue reading Top 5 Saturday: Books Set in the Forest

Book Blog Tour – Review: The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski

The Lily Cafe is thrilled for the opportunity to participate in the book blog tour for The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski! This thriller is perfect for October with Halloween right around the corner. Title: The Mother Next Door Author: Tara Laskowkski Publisher: Graydon House Publication date: October 12, 2021 Genre: Thriller For fans of Lisa Jewell, Aimee Molloy, and … Continue reading Book Blog Tour – Review: The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – October 13, 2021

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to launch myself off of WWW Wednesday, a bookish meme run by Sam@Taking on a World … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – October 13, 2021