Book Highlight: In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker

Title: In the Shadow Garden Author: Liz Parker Publisher: Forever Publication Date: September 13, 2022 Genre: Magical Realism, Romance, Mystery The richly atmospheric and luminous debut about three generations of women whose magic is as much a part of life as love, death, and the rich, dark earth beneath their feet--perfect for fans of Practical Magic and Midnight … Continue reading Book Highlight: In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – October 12, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – October 12, 2022

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – October 5, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – October 5, 2022

Diversity and Inclusivity Challenge: September 2022

diversity and inclusivity reading challenge sept 2022

This year I'm embarking on a personal Diversity and Inclusivity Challenge. This involves trying to ensure at least half of all the books I read each month feature either diversity or an inclusive, accepting world. I've defined diversity as involving books focused on one group (non-white because too many books have already featured enough white … Continue reading Diversity and Inclusivity Challenge: September 2022

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – September 21, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – September 21, 2022

Book Reviews: Thank You, Next by Andie J. Christopher + Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen

I'm definitely trying too hard by pairing these two together, but they both have to do with family, of sorts. One has a rather interesting, yet fascinatingly dysfunctional family while the other has a delightfully sweet found family story. But, where one is a romance with characters I had a hard time believing, the other … Continue reading Book Reviews: Thank You, Next by Andie J. Christopher + Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – September 7, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – September 7, 2022

Book Review: Wildwood Whispers by Willa Reece

wildwood whispers review

Title: Wildwood Whispers Author: Willa Reece Publisher: Redhook Publication date: August 17, 2021 Genre: Fantasy, Women's Fiction One Sentence Summary: After the death of her best friend Sarah, Mel takes her ashes to Sarah's family's home in the small mountain town Morgan's Gap, only to end up wrapped up in the town, the people, and the wildwood that refuses to let … Continue reading Book Review: Wildwood Whispers by Willa Reece

Book Review: The Memory Collectors by Kim Neville

Book Review for The Memory Collectors by Kim Neville

Title: The Memory Collectors Author: Kim Neville Publisher: Atria Books Publication date: March 16, 2021 Genre: Fiction, Magical Realism One Sentence Summary: Ev can feel the emotions people leave behind on objects, and so can Harriet, but the women differ on how they view their gift while the dangerous past of a third with the same gift looms over … Continue reading Book Review: The Memory Collectors by Kim Neville

Book Review: The Enchanted Garden Cafe by Abigail Drake

Title: The Enchanted Garden Cafe Author: Abigail Drake Publisher: Kindle Press Publication date: May 1, 2018 Genre: Fiction/Romance/Light mystery Note: It's entirely possible I received this book for free through the Kindle Scout program, but since it is now closed I have no way of checking for sure. Summary: The Enchanted Garden Cafe is the … Continue reading Book Review: The Enchanted Garden Cafe by Abigail Drake