Book Reviews: In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker + Spells for Forgetting by Adrienne Young

It turns out these two books have far more in common than I thought when I requested them from NetGalley. I wanted to read In the Shadow Garden because it reminded me of Garden Spells and I requested Spells for Forgetting because I was curious about the author. Turns out they both have magic, mystery, … Continue reading Book Reviews: In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker + Spells for Forgetting by Adrienne Young

Book Reviews: The Boy with the Bookstore by Sarah Echavarre Smith + All Dressed Up by Jilly Gagnon

Since I read far faster than I write reviews, I've found myself working to pair up certain books. Sometimes they're in the same genre, sometimes they share a theme. Considering The Boy with the Bookstore is a romance about a couple getting together and All Dressed Up is a mystery about a couple trying to … Continue reading Book Reviews: The Boy with the Bookstore by Sarah Echavarre Smith + All Dressed Up by Jilly Gagnon

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – September 21, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – September 21, 2022

Book Highlight: Of Magpies and Men by Ode Ray

Title: Of Magpies and Men Author: Ode Ray Publisher: Self-published Publication Date: February 2, 2021 Genre: Mystery & Thriller Can any good come of longings that a person can never satisfy? If so, good for whom?Two corpses wash ashore in a picturesque Italian village, the violence that put them there is bound to a long-held … Continue reading Book Highlight: Of Magpies and Men by Ode Ray

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – August 10, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – August 10, 2022

Book Highlight: Murder at Mile Marker 18 by Denise Jaden

Title: Murder at Mile Marker 18 (A Mallory Beck Cozy Culinary Caper #1) Author: Denise Jaden Publisher: Denise Jaden Books Publication Date: October 21, 2020 Genre: Cozy Mystery An unlucky amateur sleuth, an adorable cop, and a cat with a hunch… If anyone had told Mallory Beck she would become Honeysuckle Grove’s next unschooled detective, … Continue reading Book Highlight: Murder at Mile Marker 18 by Denise Jaden

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – July 27, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to write about my first, middle, and last impressions of each book I read, as well … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – July 27, 2022

Book Reviews: The Other Guest by Helen Cooper and Primeval Fire by C.T. Rwizi

I'm starting to think mysteries and thrillers are no longer really my thing. The few I've read, including the one below, haven't really held my attention or really interested me much. I keep trying, but I'm slowly realizing mysteries are only enjoyable if they're a cozy. Probably because the ones I pick up usually have … Continue reading Book Reviews: The Other Guest by Helen Cooper and Primeval Fire by C.T. Rwizi

First, Middle, and Last Impressions – July 13, 2022

I love taking a look at a book cover and description and then coming up with my own idea of what the book will be about. Sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm so wrong it's almost funny. So I've decided to launch myself off of WWW Wednesday, a bookish meme run by Sam@Taking on a World … Continue reading First, Middle, and Last Impressions – July 13, 2022

Book Highlight: An Island Summer by Jenny Hale

Title: An Island Summer Author: Jenny Hale Publisher: Bookouture Publication Date: June 9, 2022 Genre: Women's Fiction, Romance In the summer, everything feels possible… A heartwarming small-town romance about new beginnings, old secrets and how home is truly where the heart is. Fans of Susan Mallery, Pamela Kelley, and Mary Alice Monroe will fall head … Continue reading Book Highlight: An Island Summer by Jenny Hale